A Tribe Called Quest — Their Second Studio Album

The second studio album ever released by the American hip-hop group A Tribe Called Quest is called The Low End Theory. Released on September 24, 1991, the album was a critical and commercial success and is considered one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all time.

The album is considered a departure in style from the group’s first studio album, People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm. The tracks on Tribe’s second album were of a more minimalist style with drums, bass, and lyrics, with some describing the album as low on the treble with a more jazzy feel.

The Low End Theory topped out at 45 place on the Billboard 200 in 1991, and reached 13 on the Billboard U.S. R&B/Hip-Hop Albums that same year. The album was certified platinum in 1995 by the RIAA after having sold 1,000,000 copies.

The album’s track listings are as follows:

  1. “Excursions”
  2. “Buggin’ Out”
  3. “Rap Promoter”
  4. “Butter”
  5. “Verses from the Abstract”
  6. “Show Business”
  7. “Vibe and Stuff”
  8. “The Infamous Date Rape”
  9. “Check the Rhime”
  10. “Everything Is Fair”
  11. “Jazz (We’ve Got)”
  12. “Skypager”
  13. “What?”
  14. “Scenario”