Crewed Mission to the Moon, Second

The second crewed mission to land on the surface of the moon was the Apollo 12 moon mission and was carried out by the U.S. National Aeronautics & Space Administration (NASA). The crew was composed of Mission Commander Charles “Pete” Conrad, Lunar Module Pilot Alan L. Bean, and Command Module pilot Richard F. Gordon, with Conrad and Bean being the ones who actually touched down on the lunar surface.

Apollo 12 was launched from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida on November 14, 1969. The lunar lander with Bean and Conrad touched down on the moon on November 19, and lifted off from the moon on November 20. After a rendezvous with the command module, which remained in lunar orbit with Gordon at the control, Apollo 12 splashed down in the south Pacific Ocean on November 24.

Some notable achievements and events during the mission:

The first mission to land humans on the moon, Apollo 11, took place four months earlier.